Best falafel I’ve ever had

I know I’ve been quite… exuberant, let’s call it… about a lot of the places I’ve reviewed on this blog. Everything I eat seems to be the best ever or so fantastic I would go do outlandish things to have it again.

But, readers, if you are going to take any of these posts seriously, please make it this one. Because I truly mean it when I say Me-Va-Me Kitchen Express served the best falafel shawarma I have ever had in my life.

Let’s take it back a bit…

After raving to a family member about the wonderfulness of Banh Mi Boys he countered with his own rave review about a new restaurant that had opened near his work on Queen Street West.

Me-Va-Me served “really, really good” shawarma on fresh made, in-house prepared laffa bread that was “so good.” He highly recommended it. A recommendation I tucked away in my brain and silently vowed to test out next time I was in the area.

As it so happened, I ended up having coffee with him a couple weeks later to catch up. On Queen Street near his work. Perfect.

After it ended, I did some quick shopping and then hit Me-Va-Me on my way to subway.

IMG_3551

Once inside the clean, spacious express kitchen restaurant I had to decide if I wanted the falafel laffa wrap or grilled vegetable laffa wrap (the two vegan options).

Because I was definitely getting the laffa, no question about that.

Feeling in the mood for something with more substance, I went with falafel. At the cash they also ask you to pick your toppings so I chose lettuce, red cabbage, tomatoes, hot peppers, pickles, hummus, tahini, garlic sauce and hot sauce (there’s a list of all the toppings posted next to the register).

IMG_3549

She handed me a numbered card and invited me to take seat while they prepared my wrap. Since the laffa is indeed made-to-order I had no qualms about waiting. It also allowed me to scope out the restaurant.

Walking into the restaurant it appears to be a take-out only joint but if you look towards the back, beyond the counter, it opens up to a large dining area with tables and booths for those who prefer the true in-house experience.

Trying surreptitiously to take a picture of the dining area on my iPhone
Trying surreptitiously to take a picture of the dining area on my iPhone… I didn’t do so well.

Since I was eating at an odd time (3 p.m.) it was fairly empty and there were only a couple other patrons in the restaurant with me. Luckily this meant I didn’t have to wait too long for my falafel.

My shawarma getting its finishing touches
My shawarma getting its finishing touches: the falafel balls!

A few minutes later my shawarma was wrapped and ready to go.

I brought it home and, guys, it was really, really good. The rave review I’d heard was totally on-point.

DSCN0670

The falafel was well cooked and an interesting combination of flavours. Sometimes I find falafel to be a little too bland or a little too greasy but this one was neither.

And that laffa bread.

That bread is what classic love songs are inspired by, probably.  So soft and fresh and warm and… perfect. Just perfect.

So consider this my rave review. Go to Me-Va-Me and experience it for yourself. Get the laffa bread (definitely get the laffa bread). The one I went to is located at 240 Queen St. W. The staff there are friendly, quick and clean. My falafel shawarma came to a total of $7.85 and was big enough that I could have split it into two meals if I wanted (I didn’t).

Me-Va-Me is good. Really, really good.

Leave a comment