Banh Mi Boys

Oh my God is this place good.

As I mentioned in my last post, I’m sick of the Toronto General Hospital food court so I’ve started venturing outside the hospital to fill my hunger. Banh Mi Boys was my first stop.

A good friend of mine had recently eaten at the Queen St. W. location and raved about it to me the week prior so when I saw it pop up on my Urbanspoon app I knew I had to go.

Located at the corner of Yonge and Gerrard St. it’s not a far walk from the hospital. About 10 minutes (5 if you’re a quick walker like myself). It’s a little spot that has a few tables for patrons wishing to eat their meal there. It’s decor and counter set-up actually remind me of Five Guys, even down to the red and white checkered paper they put the “for here” sandwiches on. Both times I’ve been I got my sandwiches to go so I can’t comment too much on the in-restaurant dining experience.

The menu is divided into five sections: banh mi, tacos, steamed bao, salads and sides.Each section offers a vegan option…except the salad section, ironically.

The first time I went I had the lemongrass tofu banh mi. Mayonnaise is the dressing but they ask before putting it on. After ordering your sandwich, you walk to the side of the counter and wait for them to call your name and then they’ll ask you if it’s for here or to go and then what spice level you want. There is a big sign that outlines the different levels but that time I somehow missed it and answered, “Oh as hot as possible” (which is Banh Mi Boy spice level: extra hot). That meant instead of sriracha (medium spice level) or jalapenos (hot spice level), I got habaneros.

I’ve gone on about how much I love hot food before but this was my first dance with habaneros and all I have to say is: ow. That is hot taken to the level of painful. Literally. It’s painful.

I ended up picking two-thirds of them off the sandwich and even my fingertips burned at touching them. You can imagine how my lips, mouth and throat felt.

But aside from that little misstep, the sandwich was fantastic. The bun was fresh and delicious and the tofu was really, really good. I’m skeptical about tofu sandwiches because I’ve had experiences with soggy or mushy tofu, which is pretty unappetizing on a sandwich. Luckily Banh Mi Boys does tofu well. The sandwich topped with carrots, cucumber, cilantro and pickled veggies + your choice of spice. 5 stars for sure.

The second time I went I decided to try the steamed bao because I’d heard great things about it. I got the panko-crusted tofu bao and it was also fantastic. Especially the price: $3.66! It’s a small sandwich, sure, but still quite the deal.

I had my reservations about the steamed bao because it looks like a giant marshmallow folded over a sandwich. I expected it to taste gooey or soggy but it was neither. It really tastes like a regular bun, but softer. Not soggy at all. The panko tofu was also really, really good. At this moment I’m still undecided which sandwich I preferred because both were so good. Oh, and that time I wisely went with “hot” as my spice level. I can handle jalapenos.

Unfortunately I have not had a chance to sample any of the sides or the tacos but please don’t kid yourself and think those were the only two times I’ll be at Banh Mi Boys’ doorstep. I will definitely be back. Definitely, definitely, definitely.

One thought on “Banh Mi Boys

Leave a comment