No place for a vegan

This one is a warning post for all the Toronto vegans about a restaurant that should be avoided because there is basically nothing on the menu for a vegan.

Reds Midtown Tavern at Yonge & Gerrard.

I went there with my family for dinner. As you can probably guess, we went there because it was near the hospital. And because there wasn’t a long wait for a table like there was at the other restaurant we tried. So Reds it was.

Right off the bat the waiter told me there were no vegan options. Well, except for the edamame appetizer. Nothing that they were willing to modify for me. Nothing they could whip up for me in the kitchen. Just…nothing. Except edamame.

I won’t lie to you, I was in a bad mood so in move of defiance and stubbornness I decided that I would not be eating. Screw your edamame, Red. I ordered a glass of wine and sipped while my family ate their steaks, salad with chicken, and seafood in hollandaise sauce.

They enjoyed their food and because the wait for our (their) food took so long the waiter brought us a free round of drinks, which was appreciated. And, sure, the decor is nice, the music inoffensive and wait staff pleasant – our waiter was super apologetic about the lack of vegan options – it’s not a bad restaurant. In fact, my parents really loved it there. They would 100% go back.

But as a vegan with a blog based on giving tips & tricks to other vegans looking for places to eat in Toronto, I’m decidedly unimpressed. It’s 2015 and with all the diet restrictions out there I think they should have at least SOMETHING of substance for someone with a dairy/meat aversion. Or at least offer to make something off menu. Vegan meals are cheap; it’s essentially vegetables and carbs. I don’t think I’m asking for much here. Even The Keg Steakhouse managed to pull together a vegan meal for me!

Anyway, stay away from Reds if you don’t want an item that doesn’t have dairy, meat or edamame in it. You’ve been warned.

Leave a comment